Home INDIA & BEYOND Chandrababu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM

Chandrababu takes oath as Andhra Pradesh CM


Guntur (Andhra Pradesh), June 8 :

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N. Chandrababu Naidu Sunday took oath as chief minister of Andhra Pradesh here.

Chandrababu Naidu
Chandrababu Naidu

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan administered the oath to Naidu near Guntur town in the presence of tens of thousands of people.

Senior BJP leader L.K. Advani, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, union ministers Ananth Kumar and M. Venkaiah Naidu, the chief ministers of Punjab, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Goa and Nagaland and leaders of various parties attended the swearing-in ceremony.

A total of 19 ministers took oath along with Naidu. Two of them – K.E. Krishna Murthy and Chinnarajappa – will be deputy chief ministers.

TDP supporters celebrated the occasion by bursting firecrackers.

There was utter chaos at the venue, with police repeatedly using force to control the crowd.