After chairman, Congress targets Odisha’s Dhenkanal municipality VC

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Dhenkanal, Aug 2: 

Enthused over the no trust motion victory against Biju Janata Dal’s Dhenkanal Municipality Chairman Indramani Behera yesterday, Odisha Congress today moved to show exit doors to Vice Chairman Namita Behera of BJP.

Dhenkanal municipality chairman trust vote

According to reports, 10 councillors today brought a motion against Namita and lodged a written complaint against her with the district collector.

Collector Roopa Roshan Sahu had yesterday announced that Namita will function as interim head of the municipality.

It may be mentioned here that Dhenkanal Municipality chairman Indramani Behera had yesterday lost the trust vote as 17 councillors voted in favour of the ‘no trust motion’.

Congress had alleged that Behera had not taken councillors into confidence while taking decisions on various projects.

Out of the 23 councillors, 20 had participated in the motion moved by the Congress.  In the 23 seat municipality, Congress has 11 members, BJD has six and BJP has five members.

While Congress and BJP had issued whips to their councillors to vote in favour of the motion, the BJD had asked its councillors to abstain from voting on the motion. However, four BJD councillors took part in the voting.

Also Read

Comments are closed.