Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Mar 5:

BJD president Naveen Patnaik today criticized the Centre for its indifference towards Odisha at a meeting held at the BJD’s state headquarters here to mark the 101st birth anniversary of former Chief Minister Biju Patnaik and end of his birth centenary celebrations.

“The Central government has stopped several programmes. It is indifferent to the interests of adivasis and people of backward areas. Keeping in mind the interest of the people we are keeping aloft these programmes from our own resources,” Patnaik said addressing the gathering.

The BJD president highlighted achievements of his government at the meeting.

“There has been visible improvement in different spheres. There are several changes in the Odisha of the year 2000 and Odisha of today. There has been improvement in infrastructure, incomes of people have increased, production has increased and new employment opportunities have been created. Capital investment in industries has increased. While empowerment of women has been successful, self confidence level of youths has increased,” Patnaik told at the meeting.

Speaking at the function, BJD’s general secretary and Industries Minister Debi Prasad Mishra said that some people are unable to see Odisha’s growth while the Prime Minister has mocked at the people of the state by calling them poor.

“Some people are blind to our achievements. We have crossed the national growth average. The country’s Prime Minister has mocked at Odisha’s poverty and his propaganda machinery similar to that of Hitler’s Propaganda Minister Goebbels are attempting to create a mist out of lies,” said Mishra.

Similarly, Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare Minister Sanjay Das Burma also hit out at the Centre for its conspiracy to keep Odisha poor no matter whether NDA or UPA is in power.

Earlier, the Chief Minister flagged off a mini marathon at the Biju Patnaik park in Bhubaneswar. Around 3,000 people took part in the event.

Biju Patnaik, born on March 5 in 1916, was a two-time Chief Minister of Odisha.