Home ODISHA LATEST Centre approves three medical colleges for Odisha

Centre approves three medical colleges for Odisha


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 20:

The Centre today approved the proposal to set up three medical colleges in Odisha.

These three medical colleges would be set up at Bolangir, Baleswar and Koraput where the district headquarters hospitals would be converted to medical colleges, state Health secretary PK Mohapatra said.

There would be 100 MBBS seats each in these three medical colleges.

Mohapatra said the three districts selected for the purpose do not have any government or private medical college.

It may be noted that the state government, in a letter to the Health ministry in July last year, had informed that it has identified more than 20 acres of land each for the three aforesaid medical colleges to meet the stipulations of the Medical Council of India (MCI).