Home BIG STORY Candidates announced for CMC by-poll in Odisha

Candidates announced for CMC by-poll in Odisha


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 15:

With less than three weeks to go for the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) by-poll in ward no- 21, Opposition parties today announced their candidates.

Ballot box vote

While Congress has fielded Gouri Das, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced Padmini Behera as its candidate for the upcoming by-election to be held on June 3.

However, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is yet to announce its candidate.

Notably, issue and filing of nomination papers will begin from May 16 till May 18 and the names of the candidates filing nominations will be published on a daily basis on these days. The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is May 23. The final list of contestants will be published on the same day.

It may be mentioned that the by-poll was necessitated after corporator-cum-Mayor Anita Behera resigned from both the posts on December 29 last year following a controversy over her name figuring in the NFSA ration card list.