Home INDIA & BEYOND BJP to form government in Maharashtra, Haryana: Exit polls

BJP to form government in Maharashtra, Haryana: Exit polls


New Delhi, Oct 15 :

Exit polls Wednesday predicted major gains for the BJP in the assembly polls in Maharashtra and Haryana, with the party projected to come to power on its own or at least emerge as the single largest party in both the states.

The exit polls, released on the day ballotting was held in the two states, also predicted major losses for the Congress.

exit pollThe India TV C-Voter exit poll for Maharashtra predicted that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will emerge as the single-largest party in the 288-member assembly, with 124-134 seats.

The poll predicted that the Shiv Sena would get 51-61 seats, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 31-41 and the Congress 38-48.

Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) was projected to win 9-15 seats.

According to Today’s Chanakya, the BJP was projected to get 151 (+/- nine seats), the Shiv Sena 71 (+/- nine), the Congress 27 (+/- five) and NCP 28 (+/- five). The MNS and others were projected to get 11 (+/- five seats).

The ABP News-Nielsen predicted that the BJP and its smaller allies will get 127 seats in Maharashtra. It predicted that the Shiv Sena will get 77 seats, the Congress 40, NCP 34 and MNS five.

The C-voter poll, telecast by Times Now news channel, predicted that the BJP would get 129 seats in Maharashtra, while the Congress would get 43, the Shiv Sena 56 and the NCP 36 seats.

For Haryna, the India TV-C Voter predicted that the BJP would get 34-40 seats in the 90-member assembly. It said the Indian National Lok Dal will get 25-31 seats.

The Congress, which has been in power in the state for the past 10 years, was projected to get 12-18 seats.

The ABP-Neilsen poll said the BJP would get 46 seats in Haryana, the Congress 10 and the INLD 29. The poll said the Haryana Janhit Congress may get two seats and other parties may get three seats.

Today’s Chanakya predicted that the BJP would win 52 (+/- seven seats), the INLD 23 (+/- seven), the Congress 10 (+/- five) and others five (+/- three).