Home INDIA & BEYOND INDIA BJP finalises seat-sharing for Bihar polls

BJP finalises seat-sharing for Bihar polls


New Delhi, Sep 14:

The BJP on Monday finalised the seat-sharing for the Bihar assembly elections, keeping the lion’s share of 160 and leaving 83 for its three NDA partners — LJP, HAM and RLSP.

Amit Shah
Amit Shah

A maximum of 40 seats were given to Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), followed by 23 seats to Upendra Kushwaha’s Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) and 20 seats to former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha.

BJP president Amit Shah announced the seat-sharing agreement at a press conference here after consensus was reached after Manjhi again met him at his residence on Monday morning.

Shah also said that as per the agreement, some of the HAM candidates will fight on BJP tickets.

Paswan, Manjhi and Kushwaha were also present at the press meet.

Shah also appealed the electorate of Bihar to give NDA a chance to rule the state.

“The people of Bihar have given power to Congress, RJD and Janata Dal-United. I appeal them to give a chance to NDA,” Shah told reporters.

Polls to the 243-seat Bihar Assembly will be held in five phases between October 12 and November 5. The counting will be on November 8. (IANS)