Home BIG STORY BJD’s Narendra Swain files papers for Odisha RS by-poll

BJD’s Narendra Swain files papers for Odisha RS by-poll


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Dec 3:

Senior Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader Narendra Swain today filed nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha which was vacated due to the demise of Kalpataru Das, who was elected to the Upper House in April 2014.

nomination narendra swain

The general secretary of the party was accompanied by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and other senior leaders of the party while filing the nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha by-poll.

The senior leader filed two sets of nomination papers at the office of Assembly secretary.

The BJD candidate is all set to get elected to the Upper House uncontested as principal opposition parties BJP and Congress have decided against fielding their candidates given the numerical strength of the ruling party in the Assembly. Till the filing of this report, no independent candidate had filed papers for the polls.

Notably, the deadline for filing of nominations ends today.

Leader of Opposition in the Odisha Assembly Narasingh Mishra had said: “BJD has 117 members in the House and we have only 16. It means – this is certain that the BJD candidate will win the by-election. This is the reason why Congress has decided not to field any candidate for the Rajya Sabha election.”

Similarly, the saffron party had also decided against put up its candidate against BJD’s nominee, considering its meagre number in the Assembly. BJD has 117 members, Congress and BJP have 16 and 10 members respectively.

While, the verification of nomination papers is on December 4, the last date of withdrawal of nominations is on December 7. The polling and counting of votes will be held on December 14.

It may be recalled that the Upper House seat from Odisha had fallen vacant following the demise of senior BJD leader Kalpataru Das on July 25 this year. The BJD member’s term of office would have ended on April 2, 2020.