Home BIG STORY BJD’s Narendra Swain elected unopposed to RS

BJD’s Narendra Swain elected unopposed to RS


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Dec 7:

Biju Janata Dal nominee Narendra Swain was today declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from the lone vacant Upper House seat from Odisha which was vacated due to the demise of Kalpataru Das, who was elected to the Upper House in April 2014.

narendra swain new

Assembly Secretary cum Returning Officer officially declared this and handed the certificate of unopposed election to the senior BJD leader here today.

Notably, two candidates had filed their nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha by-poll.

While Narendra Swain was fielded as the candidate of the ruling BJD, one Ganeswar Mishra had filed his papers as an independent candidate.

However, the latter’s papers were rejected by the returning officer during scrutiny as it did not carry any name and signature of any proposer as per the norms.  Following this, Swain remained the lone candidate in fray to be nominated to the Upper House.

On December 3, Swain had filed two sets of nomination papers at the office of Assembly secretary. The general secretary of the party was accompanied by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and other senior leaders of the party while filing the nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha by-poll.

Today was the last date of withdrawal of nominations. As there was no contestant to put up a fight with Swain, he was declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha.

It may be recalled that the Upper House seat from Odisha had fallen vacant following the demise of senior BJD leader Kalpataru Das on July 25 this year. The BJD member’s term of office would have ended on April 2, 2020.