Home ART & CULTURE Bijay Mohanty conferred with prestigious Jayadev Award-2014

Bijay Mohanty conferred with prestigious Jayadev Award-2014


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Dec 13:

Ollywood actor Bijay Mohanty was conferred with the prestigious Jayadev Award-2014 for lifetime achievement and his contribution to the regional film industry during the 26th State Film Awards yesterday.


The cine artist received the award from the state Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Chandra Panda and Industries and Mass Education Minister Debi Prasad Mishra at a glittering ceremony held at Utkal Mandap here.

The award carries a cash award of Rs 1, 00, 000 and a citation.

“I am elated and grateful that the jury members chose me for this award. I dedicate this award to all my fans for making me who I am today,” said Bijay Mohanty after receiving the award.

Besides, Sabyasachi Mohapatra received the award for Best Director for his movie ‘Adim Vichar, Atal Bihari Panda received the Best Actor Award for his role in ‘Adim Vichar’, Gargi Mohanty received the Best Actress Award for her role in ‘Krantidhara’.

“I feel happy to have adjudged the best actress for my role in ‘Krantidhara’. I am thankful to Himansu Khatua and Iti Samant for giving me the opportunity to work with them,” Gargi Mohanty said.

Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress awards were given to Preetiraj Satpathy for Sanjay Pattnaik directed movie Suka Asuchi and Lochani Bag (Adim Bichar) respectively. Bhakta Prahalad Pattnaik alias Hadu (Smile Please) and Jitulal Sahu (Papi) bagged Best Comedian and Best Child Actor awards respectively.

Similarly, Bikas Das received the Best Music Director Award for Golapi Golapi, Tapu Mishra and Sourav Nayak received the Best Female and Male Playback Singer awards for Ganja Ladhei and Kidnap respectively. Best Screenplay award went to Sabyasachi Mohapatra for Adim Vichar.

Best Lyricist: Mohit Chakravarty (Rasta), Best Story: Iti Samant (Krantidhara), Best Art Director: Surendra Sethi (Suka Asuchi), Special Jury Award: Adim Vichar, Best Cinematographer: Sanjib Mohapatra (Bhaunri), Best Sound Recording: Suka Asuchi, Best Editing: Chakradhara Sahu (Suka Asuchi), Best Dialogue: None.

The award was established in 1968 which is decided by independent jury members selected by state Department of Culture. The jury panel comprises of eminent personalities from film fraternity, journalists, public servants, academicians and other prominent persons from various fields.