Home ODISHA LATEST Bhartruhari, Kalpataru BJDPP leaders

Bhartruhari, Kalpataru BJDPP leaders


Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Bhubaneswar, May 24:

Bhartruhari Mahtab and Kalpataru Das have been nominated by the BJD head and Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik to be the leaders of the BJD Parliamentary Party (BJDPP)  in the Lok  Sabha and Rajya Sabha respectively.


BJDPP meeting at Naveen Niwas
BJDPP meeting at Naveen Niwas

While Tathagata Satpathy will be the party’s chief whip in the Lok Sabha, Dilip Tirkey will handle the job in Rajya Sabha. Ramchandra Hansdah will be the BJDPP secretary in the Lok Sabha.

Pinaki Mishra will be responsible for the co-ordination between the parliamentary parties of the BJD in the two houses.

Baijayant Panda and Kalikesh Narayan Singhdeo will be the party’s spokespersons in Delhi.

This was formally announced by Patnaik himself after a meeting of the BJDPP at his residence this morning.

Eight time MP and former leader of the BJDPP in the Lok Sabha Arjun Charan Sethi has been sidelined as part of the the general plan to keep the ‘old guards’ out, sources said.

The effort on the part of the BJD leadership has been to keep most of the senior party MPs in good humour, and thankfully, there were enough number of posts to be filled up, the sources added.