Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar/Kolkata, Feb 3:

Bengal beat Odisha by 24 runs at East Zone T20 League play at Eden Gardens, Kolkata today.


The hosts put up a modest total of 145/7 in 20 overs. Bengal rode on useful contributions from opener Shreevats Goswami (33), Writtick Chatterjee (33) and Pramod Chandila (32) after being sent into bat.

In reply to Bengal’s score, the visiting side failed to reach to chase the total as they were bundled out in 18th over. Odisha were bowled out for 121 in 18.4 overs, thanks to medium pacer Sayan Ghosh’s 3/25 and supported by left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who took 2/29. Subhransu Senapati was the highest scorer for Odisha scoring 41 off 45 balls.

With today’s win, Bengal remained unbeaten in the series so far. However, Odisha lost their winning momentum with this defeat.

The next tie with Assam, placed second in the group table, will be a do or die match for Odisha in order to enter the knock out stage. Odisha has slipped to third position in the table.