Home STATE B.Ed, M.Ed courses in 29 colleges, 6 varsities of Odisha from next...

B.Ed, M.Ed courses in 29 colleges, 6 varsities of Odisha from next year


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 13:

Starting with the education year 2016-17, 29 government colleges and six universities in Odisha will offer Bachelor of Education (B. Ed)) and Master of Education (M. Ed) courses.

BJB College in Bhubaneswar is one of the 29 colleges where B Ed course will be on offer
BJB College in Bhubaneswar is one of the 29 colleges where B Ed course will be on offer

The move is aimed to address the huge shortage of trained teachers in the state. While about 17,000 untrained teachers continue to teach in schools across the state, lack of enough seats in B.Ed and M.Ed courses meant that they were not able to get trained by the government.

The School and Mass Education Department and the Higher Education Department of the state have started the preparatory work to implement the decision.

All of these colleges and universities would apply to the National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) for necessary approval by the end of this month. The decision was taken at a meeting attended by the principals and vice chancellors of these colleges and universities yesterday.

The students would be able to study in these places in self-financing mode.

The 29 colleges that will offer B.Ed courses are Sailabala Women’s College of Cuttack, BJB College of Bhubaneswar, Rajdhani college of Bhubaneswar, SCS College of Puri, Khallikote College of Brahmapur, Government College in Koraput, Government College in Bhawanipatna, Rajendra College in Bolangir, Panchayat College in Bargarh, Government College in Sundargarh, DD College of Keonjhar, MPC College of Baripada, FM College of Balasore, Dhenkanal College, Government College of Phulbani, Bhadrak College, Government Women’s College in Bolangir, KKS Women’s College in Balasore, Women’s College in Dhenkanal, NG Women’s College in Aska, Government Women’s College in Bhawanipatna, Government Women’s College in Keonjhar, Government Women’s College in Jaipur, Government Women’s College in Baripada, GM College of Sambalpur, Government Women’s College of Sambalpur, Government Women’s College of Sundargarh, Rourkela Government College and SG Women’s College of Rourkela.

All of these colleges are already offering graduation courses.

The six universities that would offer M.Ed courses are Utkal University, Sambalpur University, Brahmapur University, North Odisha University, FM University and Srijagannath Sanskrit University.

Starting next year, a four-year integrated course will also be offered in the above mentioned 29 colleges. Students would be able to enter these courses after +2. These students would be trained on Bsc B.Ed and BA B.Ed on these colleges based on their preference and performance.

Apart from this, a three-year M.Ed course would also be introduced in the universities and colleges. The students enrolling in this course after their graduation would be eligible to apply for jobs where both B.Ed and M.Ed certification is mandatory.

It may be noted that the state government will also introduce two-year B.Ed and M.Ed courses in all 15 existing teacher’s training colleges instead of the current one year ones from this educational year. This decision has been taken to enhance the quality and depth of the education. These 15 colleges have 1728 B.Ed and 120 M.Ed seats.