Home ODISHA LATEST Assembly passes Odisha Police Bill-2015

Assembly passes Odisha Police Bill-2015


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Aug 27:

The State Assembly today passed the much awaited Odisha Police Bill-2015 in the absence of the opposition members.


As per the provisions in the new Bill, the minimum tenure of the Director General of Police (DGP) will be two years. However, he will be relieved of his post if found guilty in any criminal case.

There will be a Police Establishment Board with DGP as chairperson and three others as members.

At the district level, there will be a District Police Board with the Superintendent of Police (SP) as its chairperson.

The Bill also has the provision for formation of a Board for the Commissionerate police to be led by the police commissioner as its chairperson.