Home HEADLINES Assembly panel on ‘protocol’ to keep Odisha babus on toes

Assembly panel on ‘protocol’ to keep Odisha babus on toes


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Apr 18:

Babus in Odisha, beware. You will now have a protocol committee keeping a watch over your every move when dealing with the netas.

netas and babus

On the lines of a similar committee in the Lok Sabha, a ‘Protocol Committee’ was constituted today as per the directions of the Speaker of Odisha Assembly Niranjan Pujari to examine complaints regarding the conduct of officers when dealing with elected representatives (read MLAs).

While BJD MLA from Prajang Dr Nrusingha Sahoo has been appointed Chairman of the committee, Prafulla Majhi, Mayadhar Jena, Debasish Samantaray, Bibhuti Harichandan, Bijay Mohanty and Manohar Randhari are members.

“The working of this committee is almost equal to that of Privileges Committee, which looks into such complaints. There is also another committee known as Ethics Committee it’s also doing its work. This committee has been specially constituted in line with the Protocol Committee constituted in the parliament this year. I am hopeful that this committee will help to bring officers not cooperating with members or not adhering to protocol to the right track. This in turn will expedite implementation of several programmes in the state,” said Dr Sahoo chairman Protocol Committee in his reactions.

“I thank the Speaker for accepting this demand at last. Book Circular 47 issued by the state government defines the conduct of officers towards MLAs when they are discharging their duties as a legislator. The Book Circular 47 elaborates on what should be the behavior of officers towards MLAs and the kind of respect they should pay to MLAs and consider their recommendations while executing different government programmes,” said Narasingha Mishra in his reactions on the constitution of the Protocol Committee.