Home INDIA & BEYOND Assam governor approves dropping of ministers

Assam governor approves dropping of ministers


Guwahati, July 23 :

Assam Governor J.B. Patnaik Wednesday approved Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi’s recommendation to drop Ardhendu Dey and Siddeque Ahmed from the council of ministers for “indiscipline”.

JB Patnaik, Governor, Assam
JB Patnaik, Governor, Assam

The governor also approved the resignation of Himanta Biswa Sarma on the recommendation of the chief minister, said a statement issued by the Chief Minister’s Office here.

Sources said Gogoi Tuesday decided to drop both the rebel ministers – irrigation and soil conservation minister Dey and minister of state (Independent Charge) for cooperation and border area development Ahmed – for “indiscipline”.

Gogoi Tuesday also accepted the resignation of health and education minister Sarma.

The chief minister later allocated additional portfolios temporarily to four ministers in his cabinet.

Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs Minister Nazrul Islam was allocated the additional portfolio of health and family welfare, while Power and Industry Minister Pradyut Bordoloi was allocated the education portfolio.

Agricultural Minister Nilamoni Sen Deka was allocated two additional portfolios – irrigation and soil conservation, the statement said.

Minister of State (independent Charge) for Excise, Sports and Youth Welfare Ajit Singh was given cooperation as an additional portfolio.

The Governor has also approved the additional portfolios, the statement added.

On Monday, Sarma, the leader of a dissident group of Congress legislators, resigned and said it was not possible to work under Gogoi.