Home INDIA & BEYOND Another bureaucratic re-jig in UP, 35 IAS officers shifted

Another bureaucratic re-jig in UP, 35 IAS officers shifted


Lucknow, July 3 :

Continuing with the re-jig of the state bureaucracy he started after the Lok Sabha election debacle, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav Thursday ordered transfer of 35 senior IAS officials.

This included district magistrates of Etawah, his home town, Sambhal, Sultanpur, Gorakhpur and Hathras, an official spokesman said. Divisional commissioners of Gorakhpur and Devipatan have also been transferred.

Aditi Singh has been made the new district magistrate of Sultanpur while Pawan Kumar has been sent to Sambhal and Shubhra Saxena to Shahjahanpur.

Prabhat Mittal, who was the all-powerful director, information in the Akhilesh Yadav government for over two years, got transferred for the third time in less than a fortnight.

After being posted out of the information and public relations department, Mittal was made secretary, electronics and IT but within a week transferred and made divisional commissioner of Devipatan and sent to Gonda and has now again been transferred as commissioner, rural development.

Bhuvnesh Kumar has been relieved of his charge as director skill development mission, while RM Srivastava, currently divisional commissioner of Varanasi, has been given additional charge of Mirzapur.

Akhilesh Yadav has transferred more than 100 senior police and administrative officials over the last one month. After the rout of the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) in the Lok Sabha elections, the government has been under immense pressure to deliver and has been effecting frequent changes in the state bureaucracy.