Home ODISHA LATEST Amat begins second innings as Odisha Assembly Speaker

Amat begins second innings as Odisha Assembly Speaker


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 16:

Former Finance Minister Pradip Kumar Amat was today unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

This is Amat’s second term as Speaker of the Assembly. His first term as Speaker was during 2009-2014.

A motion of notice was moved by BJD on Monday before the Assembly Secretary to elect Amat as the Speaker and a special session was convened today where Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved a resolution for Amat’s election and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha seconded it.

After a voice vote, Deputy Speaker Sanand Marandi announced Amat as the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and the latter took charge.

Following his election, Amat told reporters: “I will ensure a congenial environment for the smooth functioning of the Assembly by maintaining a cordial relationship with all the members of the House.”

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took to Twitter and congratulated Amat for being elected as the new Speaker.

Amat has so far been elected to the Assembly four times from Boudh constituency– as an independent candidate in 2000 and as BJD candidate in 2004, 2009 and 2014.

Notably, Amat had resigned on May 6 as the state Finance Minister and the Chief Minister had effected a major reshuffle in his cabinet the next day.

It may be recalled here that Niranjan Pujari had tendered his resignation as the Assembly Speaker on May 5.