Home ODISHA LATEST ‘Ama Odisha’ to make electoral debut in CMC polls

‘Ama Odisha’ to make electoral debut in CMC polls


OST Bureau

Cuttack, Dec 1 :

Ama Odisha, the political outfit floated by Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, has decided to make its electoral debut in the forthcoming Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) elections. The newly launched party announced the names of five candidates for the ensuing CMC elections at a women’s convention at Nima Sahi here in the city on Saturday afternoon.

Inaugurating the convention, chairman of Ama Odisha Soumya Ranjan Patnaik said, “Ama Odisha has brought about a revolutionary change in the state in blood donation and enrichment of Odia language. It has accomplished its mission through dogged determination.”

Ama Odisha Chairman Soumya Ranjan Patnaik  at the Women's Convention in Nima Sahi, Cuttack oN Saturday
Ama Odisha Chairman Soumya Ranjan Patnaik at the Women’s Convention in Nima Sahi, Cuttack oN Saturday

“Ama Odisha has engineered a revolution of sorts through its statewide campaigns like blood donation drive as well as popularisation and enrichment of Odia language. It has accomplished its mission through sheer grit and determination,” he said.

Referring to the current political scenario, Patnaik said the only problem in the state was the absence of good people in politics. “To introduce good people in politics, Ama Odisha has launched a new campaign to bring them together and put them in the mainstream of politics to ensure transparent politics and good governance,” he pointed out.

Focusing on the objectives of Ama Odisha, the former MP said the time for introspection had come for all of us to find out the reason for the backwardness of Odisha despite its rich natural resources. “Ama Odisha would embark on a massive awareness campaign to convince the people about the right use of the state properties”, he said.

To achieve success, one has to have strong belief, the Editor of Sambad said, adding; “Those who are willing to join Ama Odisha as members must come with a strong resolve ‘Yes we can’.

Stating that his party had launched a membership drive, Patnaik announced that a zone level women’s convention would be held very soon. “The party would complete its membership drive in all 59 wards under CMC within two months”, he added.

Gracing the convention as a guest of honour, senior leader of Ama Odisha Mohd Shakil said there was no democracy in the Congress party. “All decisions are taken from Delhi. The party high command there has been hoodwinking the State Congress workers and leaders by providing protection to chief minister Naveen Patnaik through some senior leaders. Any protest by the state party worker is strongly dealt with either by suspension or expulsion from the party. To get rid of such autocratic rule of the Congress as well as the BJD, there is a need for an alternative party like Ama Odisha”, Shakil said.

On the occasion, Ama Odisha chairman announced the name of candidates for five wards of the CMC.

The five candidates for CMC elections, whose names were announced on the occasion, are: Nirod Behera (ward no-1), Shyamsundar Sahu (ward no-2), Minati Das (ward no-27), Rashmita Maharana (ward no-28) and Annapurna Behera (ward no-30).

Among others, chairman of zone-7 of Ama Odisha Bibhuti Bhusan Jena, member Brajakishore Sahu, Rajkumar Trivedi, Antaryami Pradhan, Bibhuti Bhusan Behera, Block Congress President Akshaya Sahu, office-bearer of Nima Sahi Puja Committee Birabara Paramanik and Walid Rafiq Patel addressed the convention which was presided over by former chairman of Cuttack OBC Cell Ajay Kumar Mohapatra.

Several Mahila Samiti members and Sahi heads were also felicitated at the convention.