Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Sep 27:

MA Alam was today elected as the General Secretary of Odisha Olympic Association (OOA) unopposed replacing sports administrator Ashirbad Behera, sources said.

Odisha Olympic Association


According to sources, MA Alam emerged as the sole contender to be elected as the General Secretary of the OOA. Five contestants had filed nomination papers for the coveted post. However, four of them withdrew their candidatures this afternoon.

Similarly, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Samir Dey retained the President post, sources said.

As many as 47 candidates had filed their nominations for 22 posts of the Association. The withdrawal of nomination deadline was set at 4 pm and final list was released at 6 pm.

The names of rest of the winners who have also been elected uncontested would be formally announced on Friday.

The vice-presidents (06) are:

Kamalakanta Pandey, Prasanta Kumar Acharya, Pratap Sapathy, Jagamohan Pattnaik, Pankaj Lochan Mohanty, Kishore Kumar Biswal.

Honorary Joint Secretaries (02) are: Manoranjan Mohanty and Avijit Paul.

Honorary Treasurer (01): Adhip Das

Council Members (11) are:

Sarat Kumar Sahoo, Binod Chandra Das, Narayan Sahu, Anup Kumar Patra, Anil Kumar Bohidar, Dulal Chandra Pradhan, Rushinath Sahu, Durga Madhab Naik, Binod Dash, Dhiren Pallai and Birendra Kumar Behera.

It may be mentioned here that Ashirbad Behera had to step down from the post of honorary General Secretary after holding it for 28 years. It came following a Supreme Court ruling in March this year.