Home ODISHA LATEST Administrators to take over 25 west Odisha ULBs : SEC

Administrators to take over 25 west Odisha ULBs : SEC


ajit tripathy

OST Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Aug 31:

Administrators will be taking over the day-to-day administration in 25 urban local bodies (ULBs) spread over nine western Odisha districts where elections will not be held as scheduled on September 19. This was necessary as the terms of office of the ULBs would expire on September 19 next, the State Election Commission said.

“In the absence of any elected councils after the expiry of the five-year terms on September 19, the State Election Commission (SEC) will recommend to the State Government under the Article 243 ZA of the Constitution of India and Odisha Municipal Act, 1950 to post Administrators to manage the affairs in these ULBs where the election process was affected due to the law and order situation,” said State Election Commissioner Ajit Kumar Tripathy on Friday.

The SEC has postponed elections to the 25 ULBs in the nine districts: Sambalpur, Subarnapur, Jharsuguda, Deograh, Bargarh, Balangir, Kalahandi, Nuapada and Sundargarah based on the reports from concerned District Magistrates.
The SEC on Friday also withdrew the operation of the Model Code of Conduct enforced in the 25 ULBs.

A complete shutdown spearheaded by the Central Action Committee of lawyers of nine western Odisha districts and supported by all political parties on the demand for establishment of a permanent High Court Bench in the region stopped election process in the 25 ULBs.