Home BIG STORY 26 cops from Odisha to get President medals on I-Day

26 cops from Odisha to get President medals on I-Day


Bhubaneswar: Rabindra Kumar Mohapatra, additional superintendent of police (ASP), Bhubaneswar has been selected to get the prestigious President’s Police Medal for distinguished service on the occasion of 71st Independence Day.

In addition to this, 8 police personnel from Odisha have been selected to receive police medal for meritorious service. They are ASP (Special Intelligence Wing) Kartikeswar Samal, Assistant Inspector Kishore Kumar Dongayat, Assistant Commandant (Security Wing) Naresh Kumar Patel, Sub-Inspector Bijay Kishore Dash, Havildar Mohammad Sabir, Havildar Goutam Charan Swain, Constable Sagar Charan Guia and Constable (Vigilance) Sanjukta Pattnaik.

Besides, as many as 17 cops have been chosen for President Police Medal for Gallantry. They are Bhabani Prdhan (Havildar), Kiran Kumar (Dy. Subedar), Manoranjan Nayak (Constable), Uday Shankar Patra (Constable), Dhaneswar Muduli (Constable), Premananda Pradhan (Constable), Mahadev Gahir (Constable), Hemanta Pradhan (Constable), Tunu Sahu (Sergeant), Bikash Patra (Sub-inspector), Raj Kishore Pradhan (Constable), Hrushikesh Jal (Constable), Ram Chandra Hembram (Constable), Samanta Majhi (Constable), Suresh Chandra Hembram (Posthumously), Santanu Kumar Pradhani (Constable) and Amit Kumar Biswal (Constable).

Notably, as many as 990 personnel will be awarded with police medal on the occasion of 71st Independence Day this year.

Meanwhile, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated police personnel who were selected for President’s Police Medals for Distinguished, Meritorious service and Gallantry.