Home ODISHA LATEST Only 23 young MLAs in Assembly this time

Only 23 young MLAs in Assembly this time


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury

Bhubaneswar, May 19:

Even though the youth constitute about 42% of Odisha’s population and had an active participation in electioneering, only 23 MLAs who are below the age of 40 have been elected to the Assembly this time.

This is an 8% fall in the number of young legislators compared to the 14th assembly.

An analysis of the poll results by Odisha Election Watch (OEW), shared with the media today, said the 15th Assembly will have only 23 young legislators while their number was 36 in the 14th Assembly.

While 3 law makers belong to the age group of 25-30, 20 MLAs belong to the age group of 31-40. 11 legislators including nine from BJD and two from Congress belong to 25-35 age group, the OEW report pointed out.

A total of 73 (50%) winners out of the 147 analyzed, have declared their age to be between 25 and 50 years. 63 (43%) winners have stated their age to be between 51 and 70 years and 11 winners are aged above 70 years.

Even though a total  of 1,420 candidates had contested the Assembly polls, there were only 500 young candidates out of which only 23 could make it to the House.

Among the young members are Brajakishore Pradhan (Talcher), Bedabyasa Naik (Telkoi), Byomakesh Ray (Chandabali), Anubhab Patnaik (Khandapada), Akash Das Nayak (Korei), Chandra Sarathi Behera (Cuttack-Sadar), Pranab Balbantaray (Dharmasala) and Ganeswar Patra (Badasahi).