Home ODISHA LATEST 194 new buses for 3 clusters in state under JNNURM

194 new buses for 3 clusters in state under JNNURM


OST Bureau

New Delhi, Jan 1:

Odisha will be getting 194 new buses for three clusters of cities under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) for improving city transport system in these cluster cities.

The Union government’s Urban Development ministry in its Central Sanctioning & Monitoring Committee meeting on Tuesday approved a total of 194 buses for cluster cities of Jeypore-Koraput, Cuttack- Choudwar and Balasore-Bhadrak under the JNNURM, said official sources.JNURM-buses

Sources revealed while 40 buses have been approved for Jeypore-Koraput cluster, Cuttack- Choudwar cluster will get 100 buses and Balasore-Bhadrak cluster has got an approval for 54 buses.

Buses were also sanctioned for other ten cities in different states at the meeting.

Projects relating to ancillary infrastructure viz.depot, workshops,  Intelligent transportation systems (ITS) etc. for urban transport in these cluster cities have also been sanctioned.

The state government has to procure these buses as per the urban bus specifications-II which has been prepared by the ministry of Urban Development recently.

As per the bus funding guidelines, first instalment of the Union government’s share will be released to the state after submission of information / documents within three months.

The objective behind sanctioning of these buses is to improve the city transport system, to give Metro experience to public in these modern ITS enabled buses and to attract the public to use public transport.