Home ODISHA LATEST Top leaders, ministers face acid test tomorrow

Top leaders, ministers face acid test tomorrow


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Apr 16:

With barely a few hours left for polling in the second and last phase of polls in Odisha, the fate of several veteran political leaders and eight ministers is now solely at the mercy of the voters.POLL-2014 small

Of the top rung leaders who face the acid test on Thursday, 13 are from the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) including eight ministers, two Rajya Sabha members, four cine stars, Deputy Speaker, Government Chief Whip and the Deputy Chief Whip.

Besides, the voters will also decide the fate of several former ministers of the opposition Congress and the BJP.

Several heavyweights of the opposition including BJP leader Bijay Mahapatra, Ama Odisha Party (AOP) president Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Kharavela Swain of AOP, Arun Dey, Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mahapatra, OPCC president Jayadev Jena, Union minister and chairman of state Congress campaign committee Srikant Jena and chief whip of the Congress Prasad Harichadan are major contenders in the last phase polls.

The eight ministers who face the poll exams tomorrow are Dr Damodar Rout, Pratap Keshari Deb, Maheswar Mohanty, Debi Prasad Mishra, Badri Narayan Patra, Rajanikant Singh, Arun Sahu and Bijoyshree Routray.

Besides, former ministers Pradip Maharathi, Bishnu Das, Ranendra Pratap Swain, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, Pramila Mallick, Debasis Nayak, Prafulla Samal, Pravin Chandra Bhanjadeo, Amar Prasad Satpathy, Golak Nayak, Prasanna Patsani, Bed Prakash Agarwala and Anjali Behera are also in the fray.

The voters would also decide the fate of four Ollywood stars—Bijay Mohanty, Aparajita Mohanty, Akash Das Nayak and Tatwa Prakash Satpathy alias Papu Pam Pam—on Thursday.

Similarly, the fate of five former Congress ministers including Ganeswar Behera, Sarat Rout, Suresh Kumar Routray, Padmalochan Panda, Sk Matlub Ali and four former BJP ministers including Samir Dey, Manmohan Samal, Draupadi Murmu and Surama Padhi would also be decided in the second phase polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here