Home ODISHA LATEST Ranji Trophy: Odisha shattered by Mumbai as 6 batsmen go for duck

Ranji Trophy: Odisha shattered by Mumbai as 6 batsmen go for duck


Bhubaneswar: Batting order of team Odisha collapsed to an effective bowling attack by Mumbai on the second day of a Ranji Trophy match at KIIT Stadium here as the hosts were bowled out for mere 145 in 50.5 overs in reply to the visitor team’s first innings score of 289.

As many as six batsmen of Odisha– openers Sandeep Pattnaik & Natraj Behera, Subhranshu Senapati, Saurabh Rawat, Basant Mohanty and Dhiraj Singh– got dismissed before scoring any run.

Biplab Samantray (72 runs not out off 129 balls, 10 fours) was the highest scorer for Odisha supported by cameos from Santanu Mishra (36 runs off 95 balls, 6 fours) and Deepak Behera (28 runs off 62 balls, 4 fours, one sixer).

While Dhawal Kulkarni and Shardul Thakur picked two wickets each for Mumbai, Abhishek Nayar and Vijay Gohil dismissed three Odisha batsmen each.

Earlier, Mumbai, powered by Prithvi Shaw’s 105 off 153 balls, had scored 289 in the first innings.

Pacer Basant Mohanty was the most successful bowler for Odisha picking up four wickets. He also became the second player from Odisha to claim 300 wickets in first class cricket after Debashish Mohanty.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here