Home BIG STORY 19 workers from Odisha to get Pradhan Mantri Shram Awards-2016

19 workers from Odisha to get Pradhan Mantri Shram Awards-2016


Bhubaneswar: Government of India on Thursday announced Pradhan Mantri Shram Awards-2016 for 50 workers from public and private sectors in the country.

Total 19 workers from Odisha among 50 have been selected to get the awards in various categories.

While the Shram Bhushan Award will be conferred on 8 Odisha workers, 6 have been selected for Shram Vir/Shram Virangana Award and five will get Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards.

Eight workers selected for Shram Bhushan Award included — Sabita Panda, Raj Kishore Sahoo, Birendra Kumar Sahoo, Yashketan Mishra, Niranjan Majhi, Manoj Kumar Ghadei, Rabindra Kumar Bisoi and Sunaram Murmu. All are working at SAIL’s Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP).

The Shram Vir/Shram Virangana Award to be conferred on RSP’s Biswanath Murmu, Salmi Panna, Prafulla Kumar Patra, Aditya Nayak and Sanjay Sahoo and Paradeep Phosphates Ltd’s Daitari Bindhani.

Similarly, RSP’s Bholanath Behera, Arjun Charan Behera, Manoranjan Sahoo, Ramesh Kumar Nayak and Tapas Ranjan Sahoo will be awarded the Shram Shree award.

Among 50, 12 workers from SAIL, BHEL and TATA Steel will be awarded Shram Bhushan that carries cash award of Rs 1 lakh and a Sanad. 18 workers from Naval Dockyard, Ordinance Factory, Rashtriya Ispat Nigam, TATA Steel, Hindalco Industries, Paradeep Phosphates Ltd, Brahmos Aerospace will get Rs 60,000 and a Sanad as Shram Vir/Shram Veerangana Award. 20 workers from Cement Corporation of India, Naval Ship Repair Yard, TATA Motors, Surat Lignite Power Plant and Larsen & Toubro Ltd will receive a cash award of Rs 40,000 and a Sanad as Shram Shree/Shram Devi Award this year.

The Prime Minister Shram Awards are announced by Ministry of Labour and Employment every year. The awards are given to the workers from across the country in four categories — Shram Ratna Award, Shram Bhushan Award, Shram Vir/Shram Virangana and Shram Shree/Shram Devi Awards — recognizing their performance and contribution in field of productivity.

However, no candidate was announced for the prestigious Shram Ratna Award this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here